Cal High Dance Show

 

 

That’s why I need a one dance
Got the Hennessy in my hand
One more time ‘fore I go
I have powers taking ahold on me

-Drake

Dancing has always been an enormous part of  my life and that hasn’t changed. I am lucky that my High School has a dance program even though it’s a different style of dancing than I am used to.

Last Saturday we had our dance show. We have been practicing since the beginning of the year, including after school rehearsals during the past three weeks. The classes are divided into different dances. I had jazz, tap, hip hop, and I was part of the show’s 15 minute ballet.

On the day of the show we met at the auditorium at noon. We went through the show a last time, before the actual performance. The theme was “Garden dreams” so all the songs were chosen around it. When it started at six we were all ready with make-up and costumes, nervously waiting to go on stage.

First, we did the opening. A little later I had my first dance to “Can’t find the moonlight”. It was tap and the dance I was worried about the most, but it went okay. The ballet was “Alice in Wonderland” and me in my group were flowers in the garden. In the second half of the show I had my jazz dance to “Sweet Dreams” and also my hip hop remix. The whole thing ended with all 250 dancers on stage. It was a lot of fun to be part of something big.

IMG_0039IMG_0043IMG_0045IMG_0065IMG_0059

Leave a Reply

