Walking the Golden Gate Bridge

Ich war noch niemals in New York

Ich war noch niemals auf Hawaii

Ging nie durch San Francisco in zerriss’nen Jeans

-Udo Jürgens

San Francisco was the stop I was most excited about. The pictures of the city have always made me wanna go there. I am so happy I finally got the chance to see it and now I love San Francisco even more.

We started off with the Golden Gate Bridge. I don’t know what to say, it was just so cool to walk on the most famous bridge of all. Afterwards, we visited the Fishermen’s Wharf and had lunch there. It was very pretty and fishy.

San Francisco has the cutest houses. In all different shapes, colors, and sizes. The painted Ladies are the most famous ones, but I don’t think they are nicer than others. The Haight-Ashbury district is the old Hippie zone of the city and you can still find some crazy shops there and also two legs hanging out the window. The streets are really as steep as they look  and I thought driving up and down the streets was. Of course we also took the Lombard Street, the street with the most turns.

Day two took us to China Town. It is completely different than the rest of the city and still fits perfectly. It was somehow confusing to see other Asian cultures in China Town, but I guess that is just one of my pet peeves.

There are two ways of seeing San Francisco from above. One is the the Coit Tower, but there was a line when we got there. We went to the Twin Peaks and the view was great and for free.

There was a bad misunderstanding with our tickets to Alcatraz, so we couldn’t go.

The song on the top is a German song  and talks about places the singer always wanted to visit, but was never brave enough to go. In English it says: I’ve never been to New York, I’ve never been to Hawaii. I’ve never walked to San Francisco in ripped jeans. When I chose the song, I realized that I can already check off two of the three places. I visited both within the last year and that is amazing.

The next blog post is going to be the last one about the road trip.

DSC07515    DSC07552DSC07593DSC07619DSC07662DSC07631

Leave a Reply

