Being a real tourist

Pretty woman, walkin’ down the street
Pretty woman the kind I like to meet
Pretty woman I don’t believe you, you’re not the truth
No one could look as good as you, mercy

-Roy Orbison

When I new that I would live in L.A. everyone around me was totally freaking out. “BECAUSE IT’S L.A.”, they said. Well, of course I was extremely happy too, but I could only imagine how much fun it must be for locals to play the tourist guide. What I thought applied and most of the people here really don’t get our European excitement about Hollywood etc..

But because my host family is awesome, we did the whole tourist program on Saturday. The day started of with the famous Santa Monica Pier. The weather was perfect, the sun was shining but it was not too hot. Of course we took a ride on the ferris wheel and we had a beautiful view over the beach and Santa Monica. Then we headed out to the Urth Café and had Lunch.

Our next stop was Beverly Hills. We walked down the Rodeo Drive, feeling like Julia Roberts. Everything looked very fancy, but far away from affordable. I have to admit a very nice neighborhood just not for my usual shopping price range, not even close.

We arrived in Hollywood when the sun came down. Honestly, besides the stars and handprints in front of the Chinese theater, and unless you go into the museums, it’s nice to see but that’s it. I mean, I don’t want to play it down and I still felt pretty cool taking pictures in Will Smith’s feet.

The exciting day ended with seeing L.A. from above at the Griffith Observatory. It was stunning. So many lights and the downtown skyline in the middle of it. I couldn’t believe I was really there. All day it was a weird feeling being where all the movies have been filmed. Especially, because I’m living a normal school life like everyone else. Another highlight was seeing my friend Hanna from Norway, without knowing she was there.

The funny thing about this day was that it was also the hundredth day with my host family (not planned). Talking about that, I can’t thank them enough for taking me and I have to say that my IEC Beverly  found the perfect match. I am part of their family and not just a guest. My sister and me are equally weird and stupid (I love her but it’s true) and sometimes I’m sorry for everyone who has to suffer of us… 😀

Yaay, next week is Thanksgiving break and I can’t wait.

Bye, bye

Jana

DSC06412IMG_6752DSC06422DSC06445DSC06447DSC06454DSC06571

 

Leave a Reply

