100

I got my hands up,
They’re playin’ my song
I know I’m gonna be OK
Yeah, it’s a party in the USA

Happy 100!

Yeah it’s true! I am in the US for 100 days now. 100 days being exited, lost, desperate, happy, confused, speechless. There are so many words to describe it, but none of them can express what I really feel and I think only exchange students know what I am talking about.

Before I go on, I wanted to talk about extending my exchange really quick. It was already a question before I left Germany. Long story short, when I arrived at my host family I decided just to do it. I know that ten months are a long time and that there will be days I wish I had never done this, but I want to get the whole experience and more time to explore this country. It would already be half time now, but so I still have 7 more months to go.

Time flies over here and so many things happened in those past three months. You saw the bigger ones in my blog posts, but the little things add up too. I can say, that I am very lucky with my host family. They accepted me in their house and live from the first day. I enjoy having a little brother and sharing a room with my sister. We are having so much fun, I can’t imaging being an only child anymore and we are already planning her trip to Germany.

Anyways, not everything is that easy and the worst is getting annoyed with yourself. Not knowing how to say something, being more reserved and shy than you wanted to be, always thinking about doing something wrong. I don’t know how to explain it, but you want everything to be perfect, you want to be perfect. Learning how to let go and just see what’s coming is hard. Then there is also the life in your home country. Knowing that your friends and family go on without you, doing things you loved to do can pull you down a little. For me, it was not like being homesick just thinking about them. The thing is that you have so many memories with them and now you have to start making new memories with new people, starting from the bottom.

I learned that the best you can do is just saying “yes” to as many things as possible and going with every experience you can get. You never know if it’s good or bad, but at least you did it. This year is an adventure with ups and down, but it’s worth every second of it! I thank everyone who is part of it.

Celebrating myself and all the other exchange students with 100 days today,

Jana 

IMG_6404 

Leave a Reply

